Home > AWARD

Assessment and Incentivization of Panchayats

Assessment and Incentivization of Panchayats across the country is an innovative initiative. At the national level, it is led by the Ministry of Panchayati Raj (MOPR), Government of India and at the State level it is operationalized by the Panchayats & Rural Development Department, Government of West Bengal. Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) are the key stakeholders of this initiative. Entire process of the assessment for Panchayat Awards has been made web-based and it is conducted at the Ministry’s website link : www.panchayataward.gov.in

Major objectives of this Initiative–

Inculcate and promote a culture of healthy competition among the Panchayati Raj Institutions.

Help and enable the Panchayati Raj Institutions identify and understand their strength and weakness.

Encourage the Panchayati Raj Institutions towards functioning as Institutions of Local Governments.

Create models for other Panchayati Raj Institutions to follow.

Name of Awards / Puraskar :

A) Deen Dayal Upadhyay Panchayat Sashaktikaran Puraskar (DDU-PSP)



B) Nanaji Deshmukh Rashtriya Gaurav Gram Sabha Puraskar (ND-RGGSP)

C) Gram Panchayat Development Plan Award (GPDP Award)

D) Child-Friendly Gram Panchayat Award (CFGP Award)

List of Awardee Panchayats : Panchayat Awards-2018 (Appraisal Year 2016-17)

SL No. Name of Panchayat Tier of Panchayat Type of Award
1 Birbhum ZP Zilla Parishad DDU-PSP(General)
2 Raghunathpur-II PS (Purulia) Panchayat Samiti DDU-PSP(General)
3 Rampurhat-II PS (Birbhum) Panchayat Samiti DDU-PSP(General)
4 Illambazar GP (Illambazar, Birbhum) Gram Panchayat DDU-PSP(General)
5 Barrah GP (Kashipur, Purulia) Gram Panchayat DDU-PSP(General)
6 Domdama GP (Suri-II, Birbhum) Gram Panchayat DDU-PSP(Thematic)
7 Baidyapur GP (Kalna-II, Purba Bardhaman) Gram Panchayat ND-RGGSP
8 Digambarpur GP (Patharpratima, South 24-Parganas) Gram Panchayat GPDP Award

GPDP Award 2017, 1st Prize for Digambarpur GP, South 24 PGS.

Birbhum Zilla Parisad